Diocesan News

2016 Diocesan Synod Planned for July 28-29 at The National Shrine of Our Lady of the Snows, Belleville, Illinois

Special synod February 22nd elected Bishop Coadjutor

On February 22nd, 2014 at St. Andrew's Church in Merrillville, Indiana, a synod of the diocese met and elected a Bishop Coadjutor for the diocese, The Right Rev'd Robert Todd Giffin. 

The coadjutor (literally, "co-assister" in Latin) is a bishop himself, and is designated to assist the diocesan bishop in the administration of the diocese, and share in the duties and responsibilities of the Bishop Ordinary.

In addition, Fr. Paul Moore was welcomed to the diocese and Fr. John Berry was installed as Canon Missioner.

Delicious refreshments were prepared and served by members of St. Andrew's, Merrillville. Thanks especially to Mrs. Theresa Jennings, wife of Fr. Jennings, and to all who helped. 

St. Mary of the Angels Parish in Laporte, Indiana hosted diocesan synod in 2013

St. Mary of the Angels Anglican Church
, a mission church of this diocese in Laporte, Indiana, hosted our 4th annual diocesan synod on August 8th and 9th, 2013. The fellowship was great and we've strengthened and encouraged one another. Many thanks to all who attended and especially to those who hosted the synod.

From the APA news article: "A total of 39 people were in attendance and all parishes and missions were represented by both clergy and lay delegates. The synod consisted of two half days of meetings, evening prayer, morning Eucharist and fellowship. The DMA received three clergy into the Diocese: Frs. Sackett and Sommerrock and also Deacon McKenzie. Also welcomed was a new mission, Holy Spirit Church, in Greenfield, IN and potential mission plants in Colorado, Ohio and Kentucky. Presiding Bishop Grundorf and his wife Mary were in attendance at all Synod events and worship. The DMA wishes to thank Archdeacon Endres and the congregation of St. Mary of the Angels for hosting the two day Synod."

New lay member on standing committee

Also at this synod Mrs. Ruth Joyce was elected to diocesan standing committee, to replace Mr. William Halker, who completed his term of service. Thank you, William, and welcome, Ruth!